In Their Own Words: BC Student Guest Blogger Christopher Knoth Shares His Thoughts on Prayer

During the season of Lent we’ll be featuring a series of BC student guest bloggers, who have graciously and bravely agreed to share their personal reflections on prayer with us.  The task we asked our student guest bloggers to complete was both simple and daunting:  “In a paragraph or two,” we told them, “we (student affairs administrators) would love to hear how you reflect upon your own prayer life.  Here are some questions you might reflect upon.  Where do you pray?  How do you pray?  When do you pray?  What does prayer mean to you?”

Here’s what undergraduate Christopher Knoth, ’14, a student in the College of Arts and Sciences, had to say:

Prayer takes on a new role everyday in my life. Whether it is waking up in the morning and feeling an urge to thank God for simply another day of his gift of life or it is in a time of great disparity, feeling alone and needing a friend to rely on who I know is always there to listen. In high school, I started almost everyday by parking in the school lot, taking 5 minutes of quiet time, and praying a decade of the rosary. I feel this is a good way to start every day fresh, with a new mindset regardless of how much sleep I got the night before. Now, I find it important to have a favorite prayer to always keep with me so I can pray whenever I find time. I put a prayer card of the Prayer of Abandonment in my wallet. Whenever I open my wallet, the least I can do is know the prayer is there and think of the words without even praying.

I like to think of prayer as an informal, but continuous conversation with Jesus. Because He is omnipresent, I like to go about my day simply having a conversation with Him. Prayer keeps me in line with my emotions, especially through a weekly reflection, a form of prayer commonly utilized by the Jesuits. Reflection helps calm me down and find both the good and bad aspects of my week, enabling my to understand their importance and impact on my life. Prayer is obviously unique to every person. To me, prayer is simply a way to stay connected with my faith and with myself. It affirms my beliefs and strengthens my religious cognition. This makes for a healthy and mature development.

One response to “In Their Own Words: BC Student Guest Blogger Christopher Knoth Shares His Thoughts on Prayer

  1. I will follow your excellant suggestion -Prayer of Abandonment in wallet to connect each time I open it! Powerful prayer -below. Thx. diane neylon
    Prayer of Abandonment
    Father, I abandon myself into your hands; do with me what you will.
    Whatever you may do, I thank you: I am ready for all, I accept all.
    Let only your will be done in me, and in all your creatures.
    I wish no more than this, O Lord. Into your hands I commend my soul;
    I offer it to you with all the love of my heart,for I love you, Lord,
    and so need to give myself, to surrender myself into your hands,
    without reserve, and with boundless confidence, for you are my Father.
    Charles de Foucald

Leave a Reply

