In Their Own Words: BC Student Guest Blogger Juan Perez Shares His Thoughts on Prayer

“In Their Own Words,” our Lenten series on prayer, continues this week.  This week we are featuring Juan Perez, an undergraduate student (’12) studying in the College of Arts and Sciences.  We asked Juan to reflect upon the role that prayer plays in his life.  Here’s what he had to say:

Prayer is incredibly important throughout the entire year but even more so during the Lenten season. It is a time set aside during the year to really focus on Jesus and his sacrifice for our benefit. I do not pray as often or as long as I would like to but I do my best to pray whenever I get an opportunity. I pray just about each morning walking to class and ask for the blessings to get me through the day successfully and help make a positive impact in our world. I try and pray each night right before I go to bed and thank God for the day and ask for help in my upcoming activities. More importantly, I ask for guidance in my life and for help trying to live the most selfless and constructive life I can. During Lent, I especially try to see God in all things and have an open dialogue with God so it is more of a conversation rather than a formal and forced act. Praying is not easy nor does it provide immediate gratification but it is something that I have noticed helps me stay positive and enjoy life, especially during Lent.

Leave a Reply

